Building a Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

As if I didn’t do enough already…. January 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — dwyatt64 @ 1:40 am

Have you ever had moments when you think, “What did I just do?” Or “What did I just sign on for?”  Well, today I spent a couple of hours on the computer (NO, not just on facebook!)  But it really was for a very good cause.  Those of you that know me well know that I love the show, “The Biggest Loser”.  All that fat being turned into toned, taut physiques….all those catty comments….all that backstabbing….I just love it!  And Jillian Michaels, well, she’s my nemesis hero.

Jillian and Bob make the contestants work out for six hours a day, teach them about food and fitness, and push them emotionally, physically, spiritually.  When they’re done with them, they really ARE a new person.  Well, for the last year, I’ve been trying hard to turn this 45 year old body into something other than a dumpy, middle-aged couch potato.  Biggest Loser gives me motivation.  How many of us haven’t thought, “Wow, if THEY can do it….I can do it!”  Trouble is, I haven’t quite gotten the art of my own motivation yet. 

So, a friend recently competed in her company’s own version of The Biggest Loser.  The participants put in a registration fee, and worked out on their own, dieted, etc. and weighed in each week.  At the end of the program, the Biggest Loser (henceforth known as the BL since I’m damned tired of typing it) got the registration bucks.  In her case, it was in the hundreds.  I got the knucklehead  inspired idea to start a BL club at my school.

Once I began the sign up process, I realized that I needed to provide the participants with the one thing that always lacked for me…..motivation!  So, I decided to set it up where the participants would weigh in weekly, and the BL every week would get a little “mini” prize.  Sort of an enticement to keep going.  I also thought that it would benefit them to get a fitness tip and a healthy recipe each week.  Soooooo…….you guessed it, a couple of hours later on the computer, I’ve done my Excel spreadsheet to chart their progress, found  a great exercise comparison chart for calories burned, and found a comfort food recipe called Broccoli Cheese Chowder for them to try to brave these cold winter nights.

BROCCOLI-CHEESE CHOWDER:

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 large carrot, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 1 large potato, peeled and diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 14-ounce cans vegetable broth, or reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 8 ounces broccoli crowns, (see Ingredient Note), cut into 1-inch pieces, stems and florets separated
  • 1 cup shredded reduced-fat Cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Preparation

  1. Heat oil in a Dutch oven or large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion, carrot and celery; cook, stirring often, until the onion and celery soften, 5 to 6 minutes. Add potato and garlic; cook, stirring, for 2 minutes. Stir in flour, dry mustard and cayenne; cook, stirring often, for 2 minutes.
  2. Add broth and broccoli stems; bring to a boil. Cover and reduce heat to medium. Simmer, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes. Stir in florets; simmer, covered, until the broccoli is tender, about 10 minutes more. Transfer 2 cups of the chowder to a bowl and mash; return to the pan.
  3. Stir in Cheddar and sour cream; cook over medium heat, stirring, until the cheese is melted and the chowder is heated through, about 2 minutes. Season with salt.
 

2 Responses to “As if I didn’t do enough already….”

  1. noe noe girl Says:

    Damn, you’re good!
    That looks yummy. I’ll have to take a whack at it!
    Still planking the belly fat here! I think I am seeing some results!
    Stay warm over there.

  2. TRIgirl 40 Says:

    Very cool – what a great team building activity for your school. The recipe looks yummy – and perfect for a wintry weekend like we just had. Hope you guys get a few snow days off!


Leave a Reply

