Building a Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What the crap??? Literally…. December 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — dwyatt64 @ 4:17 am
Tags: , , , ,

Obviously, my blogging has fallen by the wayside since going back to work this fall.  Call me a laggart, call me lazy, call me a working mom, loving wife, teacher, etc. but hey…..shit happens.  Literally.

I really HAVE been squeezing in some workouts here and there.  Not as often as I’d like, but they have happened.  A balance is somewhat difficult to find, when you’re also trying to get to children’s sporting events, dances, etc.  And then there’s the above mentioned “shit happens”.

A couple of weeks ago, we noticed bubbling water standing in our yard.  Not a good sign, by any stretch of the imagination.  All the rain we had this fall led us to believe that something was going wrong with our drainfield.  So, we had a septic guy out to check our tank.  Our beautiful twenty year old cherry tree’s roots were growing down into the tank and distribution box.

Just when you’re paying real estate and personal property taxes (and of course, gearing up for a visit by the big guy in the red fur suit), you do NOT want to have to fork out money for septic issues.  OR have a favorite tree ripped up by the roots.  Our family Easter pictures were always taken out under that blooming tree.  Alas, the tree had to go, the roots pulled up, the tank cleaned out.  Voila.  Done deal.  Or so we thought.

Yesterday we had the pleasure of watching all the water (and I use the term very loosely) in all our pipes back up into our toilets, showers, tubs, etc.  All day yesterday we couldn’t use any water.  All today.  Poor hubby had to stay home from work and try to figure out what the crap was going on.  It’s a good thing he’s such a superman and handy man.  He dug up the distribution box.  No problem there.  Dug up the tank.  No worries.  He figured the blockage had to be between the tank and house.  Running a so-called “snake” into the pipe (don’t ask me specifics…I tried NOT to be involved at all), he discovered a total blockage just past the tank…..right where my beloved tree….used…to….be.  Hmmmm.  Digging down, he discovered that the machinery that pulled up my tree also managed to bust the main pipe leading to our house.

For close to two weeks now, we have unsuspectingly been showering, flushing, and washing to our heart’s content.  And then the pipe ran out of room.  Sigh.  Things are clean and back to normal, but it’s not an experience I’d want to relive any time soon. 

Since the next few days are going to be hectic in the extreme, I want to wish everyone who happens to stop by (and I don’t kid myself….I have been on so seldom it would be a wonder if anyone DOES read this!)…..a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!  Blessings on you and yours…

 

4 Responses to “What the crap??? Literally….”

  1. CJ Says:

    Merrrrrryyyy Christmas! So sorry for your troubles, but glad they’re behind you! Thanks for posting – I missed you!

    • dwyatt64 Says:

      Hopefully, things are back to normal in “Wyatt’s World”. What a messy few days. And as the song says…”Happy Days are Here Again!” I’m even braving having little girls over this weekend. Should I knock on wood?????

  2. noe noe girl Says:

    OMGoodness! When it rains (no pun intended) it pours! And I wont even get started on the taxes! What awful timing. I am so sorry about all of it. Sounds like a glass (or two) may be in order =)
    Thanks again for the beautiful Christmas card. Your girls are quiet stunning! Merry Christmas GF!

  3. TRIgirl40 Says:

    Blech – I am sorry – what a mess to have to deal with around the holidays! Wishing you all a much better next few days – and a very Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

