Building a Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Back in the Saddle Again August 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — dwyatt64 @ 8:45 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

saddleAs Jack Nicholson famously said, “I’m baaaaaack!”  After a few weeks off, I started back on some semblance of a workout routine this week.  So far, I have done the evil Jillian’s dvd, weightlifting, a 3 mile run/walk, and an hour power walk.  I have NOT begun tweaking my diet again.  I figured I would see how my body reacts to the activity once more, before I start torturing eating healthily again.

     One thing to note:  I had heard that if you take about two weeks off from exercise, it feels like starting all over again when you do resume.  And boy, was that rumor correct.  My first day back, I thought, “Oh, I won’t do an hour of walking/running/etc., I’ll just do a half hour or so.  Jillian’s tape is only about 25 min., so I’ll just do that.”  Sweet Lord.  The next day I sounded like cavewoman, grunting and groaning while moving about the house.  How could I have forgotten that bitch woman and her kickass approach to fitness???  The day after, I had to take off because of soreness.  Not a great re-entry into my routine.

     So far, I have not gotten back into working out every day, but I figure 4-5 days a week is a good start.  Once that becomes comfortable, I’ll have to start worrying about the diet (or I guess I should call it nutrition, not the D-word).  I have slid back into old (bad) habits that can easily derail the good I am doing with the exercise.  Picking at plates after the girls, eating on the road (hard to curtail THAT one, with volleyball practice every night from 6-8!), not having time to do some healthy grocery shopping…..all combine to make this another hurdle to overcome.

     My job begins in just a couple of weeks…..and I know I need to get a handle on this routine before getting back into the swing of lesson planning, grading papers, making school lunches, etc.  Once that starts, I will be “Back in the Saddle Again” in more ways than one!

 

3 Responses to “Back in the Saddle Again”

  1. CJ Says:

    Welcome back! I missed you (glad to have FB to smooth the patchy spots out). I’m sure you’ll be right back into your kick butt routine before you know it. I hope the job is a help with a routine…

  2. Bethany Says:

    ugh! I know the feeling. Am trying to get back in the saddle again this week as well post-Ironman and actually watch what is going in my mouth and get some regular exercise. Not always easy but it gets better after a week or so right?

    • dwyatt64 Says:

      I don’t know about easier, Bethany…with Madeline in high school volleyball EVERY night, the travel alone is killing me. I fit in a workout MOST days….while working around the girls’ summer homework, laundry, housework, etc. I’m managing at least 4-5 workouts a week. I wouldn’t say I’ve gotten back into my “kick butt” routine yet, CJ….but I hope I’m getting there!!!


Leave a Reply

