Building a Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

No Chocolate for V-Day February 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — dwyatt64 @ 4:38 pm
Tags: , , , ,

      Isn’t it amazing?  I guess it’s true what they say…if you stop eating something like sweets for a period of time, you stop craving them.  That seems to be what’s happening for me in the realm of one of my all time favorite treats–chocolate.

     Usually, my wonderful hubby supplies me with chocolate and flowers for the ultimate decadent holiday…Valentine’s Day.  This year, in keeping with my body “re”building goals, I requested that he abstain from treating me to either one.  Now, don’t get me wrong;  I love chocolate, and I love flowers.  But this year, the chocolate would probably foil my efforts at heading to that tropical island, and with the recession in full force, flowers just seemed so much like a luxury.  They sit there beautifully, but then die after a week or so.

     Instead, I received a much nicer gift–time with my family, and a wonderful cooked meal by the hubby.  We had bacon-wrapped filet mignon (extremely lean–I checked) , shrimp on kebobs, brown rice, steamed green beans, and beets (I know, but they’re one of my favorites and the color seemed to fit!).  We skipped the dessert, but we opened a fantastic bottle of prosecco I bought at my last book club with some of my girlfriends.  It was one of the best proseccos I’ve ever had.  Kudos to Lynn for holding book club at www.barrelthiefwine.com    (The Barrel Thief).  If you live in the Richmond, VA area, it’s a fabulous little wine shop with tastings and food as well.   

     Now, I’m not advocating the total boycott of chocolate–far from it.  I’m just saying that I don’t need a five pound box of chocolates to feel love (and really…who does???)  I still have a small piece every now and again when the craving DOES hit, and it does still come particularly during PMS week.  But a little goes a long way when you indulge in dark chocolate.  It’s nice to have that taste, but not wreck weeks of work in the process. 

     The great thing, though, is that I no longer crave the whole bar, bag, cookie, cake, or pie.  In the past, I ate sweets enough that I think my body was used to them….so when I abstained it went into withdrawal.  The body started screaming “chocolate!” or “sugar!”, and it was VERY hard to say no.  Now that I’m fueling my body with healthier foods, there is less room for the other stuff.  I am finally learning to take that one bite, one piece, one spoonful, etc., and be satisfied.  Upside?  I didn’t gain an ounce over the V-Day weekend!

candy_card_small2

 

2 Responses to “No Chocolate for V-Day”

  1. Linda Says:

    Oh, you’re just too good, Denise. It makes me feel like even more of a slug!


Leave a Reply

