Building a Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Back on Track January 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — dwyatt64 @ 11:16 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

   My New Year’s Resolution is NOT to have a resolution that involves weight or clothing size.  Too many times we pin our hopes on a quick fix, which is the American way.  Need a meal in a hurry?  Go to Mickey D’s.  Need a prescription in a hurry?  Try drive through pharmacies.  Everything in our society is based on what we want, and getting it in a hurry.

    Not this time.  In the past, I have started out New Year’s with telling myself, “I’m going to lose those ten pounds.”  Or “I’m going to fit into a size 2” (not since middle school, friends).  This time, I am going to go about my fitness in a different way. 

    I started my journey into bodybuilding with a little bit of a quick fix mentality.  Take these supplements, cut out these carbs, exercise x amount of times per week with x amount of reps, and voila!  Banging body in no time.  I soon came to realize that, as with anything that is worth it, there is some waiting involved.

    As I neared the holidays in 2008, I was happy to realize that I was down a few pounds.  I really wanted to maintain that loss, but ended up gaining two pounds over the holidays.  In years past, that alone would have sent me into a spiral into hell mood downswing.  But this year, I pulled up my bootstraps, sucked it up in the gym, cut out some crap in my diet that had creeped in, and now I’m happy to say that I have not only lost those two, but also another pound as well.

    I have also found another exercise to love.  YOGA.  There, I said it.  But I am not talking about some ohming in a lotus position.  I am talking about vinyasa power yoga.  That stuff kicks my ass!  And I feel really good afterwards, which is an added bonus.  Somehow, I don’t think I was stretching my muscles enough with my current routine, and boy, does vinyasa stretch those muscle fibers.

    With that being said, I also have tried to figure out a way of eating that is not too extreme….something I can live with that is a way of life, not just a fad to get to some bodybuilding goal.  I still have to watch my carbs, as they are my downfall, but I am finding that searching out new recipes like in my last post is good motivation to try tasty new dishes.

    I am now back on track to reach my  goals this year.  Not a number on a scale.  Not a size on a rack.  I am looking to build a better body by building a better healthy lifestyle, with more fun, more activity, more food (imagine that!), more time with friends, and more time for ME!

 

3 Responses to “Back on Track”

  1. TRIgirl 40 Says:

    I love this “back on track” post – it helps me to remember there is a balance out there we can all find and live with – one that offers joy as well. Tell us more about the yoga – I’ve dabbled here and there and enjoyed it – and hope to learn more someday.

  2. kate o Says:

    With all this training, I have lost quite a bit of flexibility. Yoga has been great for stretching it all back out and making me feel like I’ve been “put back together” in a way. Finding the right instructor makes all the difference and their styles can make or break your practice. I’ve also never been one to make weight resolutions–if you feel good/fit, you look that way.

    BTW, that chick was totally shellacked (sp?)!

  3. dwyatt64 Says:

    Kate, so right. Unfortunately, where I live, an instructor is not an option. I found a video by Baron Baptiste (sp?) who owns a studio somewhere in California. It is a medium difficulty power yoga practice called vinyasa, which I really enjoy. Also, if that chick in your post was third place, I DO NOT, repeat, do not, want to see first and second.


Leave a Reply

