Building a Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How Can I Be Busy If I’m Not Working??? December 3, 2008

     As I look back over the last month or so, I am so proud of all I have accomplished.  But what bugs the hell out of me is what I haven’t.  I took off two years from work, ostensibly to do “stuff around the house” that hadn’t gotten done while working, taking care of my grandfather, doing his estate, being mommy, wife, etc.  Where does the time go?  I have done some of the things on my “to do” list.  I had said that while I was taking some time off from work, I would go back on some kind of fitness routine.  Done.  I had said I was going to clean out my closets.  Done–but whaddayaknow, the darn things are cluttered again.  I had said I was going to clean out all the things my grandfather had left me–just stuffed in the attic–and display those antiques and heirlooms that needed to be shown.  Not.  Ditto for some of my cabinets.  Not done.

     How the heck can I stay so busy when I am no longer working full-time, running children to Hanover for swimming practice, or doing the executorship of granddad’s estate???  Where in the world did I get the energy to keep doing all that, while suffering from insomnia at the same time?  Now I am not working, sleeping way better, but the day just seems to get away from me.  And no, I don’t paint my nails or eat bon-bons, either. 

    Yesterday I had a new granite bathroom vanity top, painted sink, and bronze faucet installed.  Today I cleaned major clutter off my kitchen countertops (where the heck does all that stuff come from?).  I hope I can get some semblance of Christmas decor up without using the out-of-commission-thanks-to-ankle-surgery hubby.  This year we may be looking at mantlepiece decorations and a half decorated tree (it’s ten feet tall, and even on a chair….well, you get the picture).  Hubby does all the major outdoor decorations, so not much will be going on outside this year. 

     The last two days, I didn’t even get a workout in.  Bad me.  I really wanted to try and squeeze one in Monday evening, but ran out of steam.  Yesterday, between taking Jeff to the doctor and being home in time to get the girls off the bus, I got in a little Christmas shopping  (Yep, way behind on that, too).  Today, I am determined that I will get in some kind of a workout…even if it’s no cardio–which I have been trying to do more of.  Dinner’s in the slow-cooker, so hopefully this afternoon the girls will be self-sufficient so I can have my “me” time.  Home gym, here I come.

 

2 Responses to “How Can I Be Busy If I’m Not Working???”

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHow Can I Be Busy If Iâ??m Not Working??? « Building a BodyHere’s a quick excerptI hope I can get some semblance of Christmas decor up without using the out-of-commission-thanks-to-ankle-surgery hubby. This year we may be looking at mantlepiece decorations and a half decorated tree (it’s ten feet tall, … […]

  2. Kim Says:

    I know you have heard that if you want something to get done, give it to a busy person. It’s true-we tend to rise to the occasion without even knowing it. Looking back over my life I am also amazed at how I was able to sustain everything that I have. Humans are amazing creatures, aren’t they!


Leave a Reply

