Building a Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Mommy Moment November 3, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — dwyatt64 @ 7:54 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

     For all you moms out there……do you remember the day you first put your little tyke on the school bus to begin their preschool/elementary career?  Well, today I had another Mommy Moment. 

     It’s Fall.  Prime time at ACDS for current eighth graders to begin their foray into visitation at high schools they are considering for next year.  Madeline is one smart cookie, and we want to be sure she ends up at the best possible school for her strengths.  So far, we have narrowed it down to a private episcopalian school,  a small public high school, and trying for one of the two spots our county has at the state Governor’s School.

     Today I dropped Madeline off at St. Margaret’s for her classroom visitation.  She was attending chapel at 7:50 am, followed by morning classes, and lunch in the cafeteria with her hostess.  I said the usual “mom”isms….behave yourself,  no clowning around, you’re there to impress them, ask questions if you don’t understand.  Oh, how I embarrass my own self.

     Little Miss Self Assured rolled her eyes and told me she had it covered.  She was going to find out from her hostess about the sports programs, foreign languages, exchange programs, etc.  She was going to be fine.  And with a GPA of around 4.0 (higher if you count advanced classes as 5.0), I know in my head she will be.  Of course, the heart is another story.

     And so, I looked into my rearview mirror as I drove away.  She was chatting up new friends, fitting in, being wonderful as usual.  Growing up.  Sniff.

 

2 Responses to “A Mommy Moment”

  1. Lynn Says:

    That’s my girl…

  2. TRIgirl40 Says:

    Bittersweet, but special. Like mother, like daughter!


Leave a Reply

