Building a Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wine is a Food Group September 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — dwyatt64 @ 2:29 am
Tags: , , , ,

Today was a so-so day for the bodybuilding diet.  I DID stick to my low carb regimen.  It is a little difficult to do when two of the meals are eaten out.  Lunch today was with a friend at an Italian restaurant on Nuckols Road.  I was pretty good–a chicken and antipasto salad with vinaigrette.  Nothing but meat, cheese, and veggies.  The problem with restaurant food, however, is I’m pretty sure that their mozzarella is NOT the lowfat, part-skim brand that I use.  Then, my daughter’s soccer team won their first game of the season against their long-term rivals.  The team decided to go out for…..Italian!  Back into another Italian bistro to try to dodge the food bullet.  This time I ate veal and sauteed spinach (which was darn good, yet swimming in olive oil–healthy fat, right?)  The bread basket passed.  I declined, even though they are known for their homemade yeast rolls.  Everyone else was dabbing and dipping, but not Denise.  I stayed true to my diet, and had no complex carbs.  I had a glass of pino grigio with the meal, but wine is made from grapes, right?  A friend told me on the phone tonight (thanks, Lynn, you are SO wise) that that counts as a fruit.  I’ll go one step further–wine is its own food group.  And I, for one, must partake daily to survive hormonal, thirteen year old female children.

 

6 Responses to “Wine is a Food Group”

  1. SusieQ Says:

    Lynn is right! 🙂

  2. dwyatt64 Says:

    So true–anything that contributes to my sanity is always a positive! And I think it’s low in carbs (sort of, and who cares) so I feel like I’m not cheating too badly 🙂

  3. MizFit Says:

    it’s PORT AS A FOOD GROUP in this weight lifters world.

    at least wine people think is ‘cool’
    the port? not so much 🙂

  4. dwyatt64 Says:

    Good to know that weight lifters don’t have to give up everything in life that makes it worth living! How long have you been at this?

  5. Lynn Says:

    wine… vino… yum…

  6. […] a taste for the grape, I will freely admit it.  As a friend of mine says in a recent post “wine is a food group!” and I agree.  Whether it is sipping a glass of merlot while making dinner or having a chilled […]


Leave a Reply

