Building a Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

When Life Gets in the Way… September 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — dwyatt64 @ 2:15 am
Tags: , , ,

   I was on a roll.  I really was. No, I mean I truly was committed.  Then life got in the way.  What parent doesn’t know what I’m talking about?  I was actually enjoying my exercises, (I just love it when someone tells me exactly what exercise to do, number of reps to complete, etc.), the diet was going well great   fine, and I was starting to see little muscle fibers stand up and twitch. Then my youngest got sick, and I stayed home with her.  Mommy, can you watch this with me?  Mommy, I am really thirsty, could you get me a drink?  I couldn’t be a total bitch and ignore my kid.  Then, my oldest was in a softball tournament all weekend.  I had to be good little cheerleader mom and attend both days.  By the end of two days sitting in the draining heat and humidity of a Virginia September, the last thing on my mind was two hours of cardio plus lifting.  I did manage to not wreak total havoc on my diet (I carried almonds to the ballpark to snack on, so NO ballpark grease-induced coma).  Pat, pat on my back.  I DID drink wine, and enjoy a martini, too, so I’d have to say this temporary slide was a 50/50 toss up as to whether or not I succeeded or failed.  The important thing I realized these last few days, however, is that life will always have little zingers that get tossed my way.  It’s how quickly I get back to my commitment and goals that will determine the outcome!

 

Leave a Reply

