Building a Body

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hello world! September 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — dwyatt64 @ 2:40 am
Tags: , ,

     Hello World!  Most of my friends are already members of the 21st century…i.e. bloggers extraordinaire.  This is my first foray into the world of blogging, and I am hopeful that it will serve as a tool to keep me on track as I enter a new phase of life.  I have always been active (former aerobics instructor, kickboxing instructor, runner, etc.), but it’s time at age 43…okay, okay almost 44…. to kick it up a notch.  My husband is an Ironman triathlete.  For those of you who don’t know what that entails, when he does a competition he swims 2.4 miles, then cycles 112 miles, and follows it up with a full marathon.  Yup, and that’s all within one day.  You can imagine the body he has.  How could he not?  It takes a full six months of training (on an already fit body, that is) to prepare for one race.  I, on the other hand, have let my aerobic capacity, shall we say, slide somewhat over the last few years.  In my early 30s I taught aerobics, in my late 30s kickboxing, and then decided to run a marathon.  Unfortunately, my training for that was sidetracked by the dreaded plantar fasciitis, and I never got to run it.  Now, thanks to my fricking loving husband, he has suggested that my “build” (what the h___ does that mean?) would be great to try bodybuilding.  Hence, this blog.  Darn it, I need some motivation, Weight Watchers style, to kick my heinie into high gear and keep me accountable for my torture diet, training, weights, etc.  Wish me luck!!!

 

Leave a Reply

